The PGA Championship is a fabulous golfing tournament which features prominently on the annual calendar. 

This tournament takes place under the auspices of the Professional Golfersโ€™ Association of America, and ranks among one of the top 4 professional golfing championships. The PGA Championship is usually played towards the end of summer (mid-August), prior to the Labor Day weekend.

Don't wait until tee-off time to place your golf bets โ€“ play like a champ and get your bet-slip ready for summer's greatest golfing contest!

Founded in 1916, the PGA Championship is also one of the longest-running golf tournaments of all time. Over the years, many golfing greats have graced the stage in this hard-fought contest. Some of the most successful PGA Championship winners include the likes of:

* James Barnes โ€“ winner in 1916 and 1919 โ€“World Golf Hall of Fame in 1989
* Walter Hagan โ€“ winner in 1921, 1924, 1925, 1926, and 1927 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 1974
* Denny Shute - winner in 1936, and 1937 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 2008
* Gary Player โ€“ winner in 1962, and 1972 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 1974
* Jack Nicklaus โ€“ winner in 1963, 1971, 1973, 1975, and 1980 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 1974
* Lee Trevino โ€“ winner in 1974, and 1984 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 1981
* Nick Price โ€“ winner in 1992, and 1994 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 2003
* Vijay Singh - winner in 1998, and 2004 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 2005/2006
* Tiger Woods โ€“ winner in 1999, 2000, 2006, and 2007 โ€“ World Golf Hall of Fame in 2021
* Brooks Koepka - winner in 2018, and 2019 โ€“ Too Young For The World Golf Hall of Fame

The PGA Championship goes by other names such as the US PGA, or the US PGA Championship. As the fourth and final golf major, it is often regarded as the cherry on top โ€“ the most prestigious of all the golf championships.

Millions of dollars in prize money is up for grabs every year, and major points are provided to winners of the PGA Championship, to help retain and solidify rankings in the golf arena.

As soon as the player wins the PGA championship, they will automatically be invited to contest the other golf major tournaments, including: The Open Championship, The Masters Tournament, and prestigious US Open. Many other benefits to winning the PGA Championship exist, including automatic entry to The Players Championship for a period of 5 years.

Predominantly an Eastern US Golfing Major

For the most part, this golf championship is contested on the eastern side of the United States, with only 10 outings hosted on the west. Several slogans have been used to promote the PGA Championship, notably Glory's Last Shot, The Season's Final Major, and This is Major.

Winners get to hoist the Wanamaker Trophy up in the air, proudly displaying this 27-pound keepsake.

Of course, the winner must return the Wanamaker Trophy, and gets to keep a replica for his efforts. Qualification for the PGA Championship is pretty intense, requiring that candidates meet strict criteria for entry.

While all the top 100 golfers are invited, the first 50 Official World Golf Ranking players are automatic entries.

The Golf Tournament Millionaire Maker

The PGA Championship is played at different venues. This helps to keep the contest exciting, with different golf courses being showcased. Among the many venues that have featured include Oak Hill country club in Rochester New York, Whistling Straits, in Kohler, Wisconsin, Bethpage Black course, in Farmingdale New York, Crooked Stick Golf Club, in Carmel, Indiana, and Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York. 

The winnerโ€™s share has increased dramatically over the years, reaching $1 million + in 2003 when Shaun Micheel walked away with $1,080,000. Since then, other golfers have been crowned millionaires overnight, with Vijay Singh, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Padraig Harrington, Yang Yong-eun, Martin Kaymer, Keegan Bradley, Rory McIlroy, Jason Dufner, Jason Day, Jimmy Walker, Justin Thomas, and Brooks Koepka bringing in well over $1 million +

Now that you know who is hot, and who is not, you can confidently place your bets on the upcoming PGA Championship at New Jersey's pre-eminent online bookmaker โ€“ 888sport.

Get ready to drive long and put straight as you chase down albatrosses, eagles, and birdies with the best in the business!

Photo courtesy of Seth Wenig and AP

About the Author
Brett Chatz

Brett is an internationally published sports journalist, political analyst, and medical fiction author. His commentary is seen in The Star, The Citizen, Tampa Bay Times, The Street, The Sowetan, The Sunday Times, The Sunday Independent, and across hundreds of online and print media platforms. He is the author of โ€˜Cricket Chatzโ€™ and the highly-acclaimed, โ€˜Serumโ€™. 

Related Content
The 4 Golf Majors

The 4 Golf Majors

Hottest Ryder Cup Contests

Hottest Ryder Cup Contests

Leading Senior PGA Winners

Leading Senior PGA Winners


Koepka, McIlroy The Favorites As The Open Returns to Ireland After 68 Years

The 2019 Open Betting Preview

Koepka, Johnson, And Somebody Named Tiger Vie For The U.S. Open

2019 U.S. Open Preview