Table of Contents

U.S. Open Tennis Champions

The US Open Championships began as far back as 1881. Over the years, this prestigious tennis major has featured thousands of players from all over the world. The first winner Richard D. Sears won the U.S. Open in 1881, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1885, 1886, and 1887.

Other US Open champions have been equally impressive, such as William A. Larned with multiple wins over the years, including 1901, 1902, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, and 1911.  In the 1920s, it was none other than William T. Tilden who dominated the scene, with wins in 1920, 1921, 1922, 1923, 1924, and 1925. As the competition involved, the number of players who won back-to-back US Opens diminished.

Enter the era of the legendary tennis players such as Arthur Ashe (winner in 1968), Rod Laver (winner in 1969), and Boris Becker (winner in 1989). While every single winner is deserving of victory, some winners have proven themselves against tremendous adversity.

In an era where we must acknowledge the performance of athletes based not only on their wins, but the adversity that they've overcome, we pay special tribute to the likes of Althea Gibson, Arthur Ashe, Serena Williams, and other players of color who have helped to transform the fantastic sport of tennis so that everyone, everywhere can enjoy its majesty. To quote the late, great Arthur Ashe, β€˜Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can.’

Most Total Titles Across All Events

Prior to the open era of the US Open, 3 players in the men's division racked up a huge number of titles. These include Bill Tilden with 16 titles between 1913 and 1929, Richard Sears with 13 titles between 1881 and 1887.

During the open era, Bob Bryan racked up 9 championship titles between 2003 and 2014, John McEnroe won 8 titles between 1979 and 1989, Todd Woodbridge won 6 titles between 1990 and 2003, and Jimmy Connors won 6 titles between 1974 and 1983.

The list of achievements by female players was even more impressive. Margaret Osborne DuPont won 25 titles between 1941 and 1960. Margaret Smith Court won 18 titles between 1961 and 1975, and A Louise Broug won 17 titles between 1942 and 1957.

Of course, most of us are familiar with the open era titles. The likes of Martina Navratilova with 16 titles, Margaret Court with 10 titles, Serena Williams with 9 titles, and Billie Jean King with 9 titles come to mind.

Ready for some swashbuckling NJ sports betting action? Add your bet to your bet slip and play like a boss.

Most Singles Championships

We limit our focus to the open era where players like John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras, and Roger Federer reigned supreme.

* John McEnroe – 4 singles championships in 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984
* Jimmy Connors – 5 singles championships in 1974, 1976, 1978, 1982, and 1983
* Pete Sampras – 5 championship titles in 1990, 1993, 1995, 1996, and 2002
* Roger Federer – 5 championship titles in 2004, 2005 2006, 2007, and 2008
* Chris Evans Lloyd – 6 championship titles in 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, and 1982
* Serena Williams – 6 championship titles in 1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, and 2014
* Steffi Graf – 5 championship titles in 1988, 1989, 1993, 1995, and 1996

US Open Tennis Trivia

Then you have it folks! The US Open Champions. These men and women are internationally revered as legends of the game. Notable exclusions include Ivan Lendl, a 3-time U.S. Open champion (and 8-time singles finals contestant between 1982 and 1989) who was the greatest player in the world during the 1980s.

Other superstars have graced the courts over time, including Novak Djokovic, Mats Wilander, and Stefan Edberg. Incidentally, the youngest men's champion to ever win was Pete Sampras at just 19 years of age, and the youngest woman's champion was Tracy Austin at just 16.

The oldest men's champion was Ken Rosewall at 35 years of age, and Flavia Pennetta for the ladies at 33 years of age.

Ready to serve up a winner at 888sport NJ? Come on over and check out our tennis betting lines NOW!

* US Open Photo Courtesy of Charles Krupa and AP 

About the Author
Brett Chatz

Brett is an internationally published sports journalist, political analyst, and medical fiction author. His commentary is seen in The Star, The Citizen, Tampa Bay Times, The Street, The Sowetan, The Sunday Times, The Sunday Independent, and across hundreds of online and print media platforms. He is the author of β€˜Cricket Chatz’ and the highly-acclaimed, β€˜Serum’. 

Related Content
Worst Tennis Rants Ever

Umpire You're P**** Me Off!

Winningest French Open Champs

Winningest French Open Champs

Who's Next? The Top 5 Successors To The Big 3 In Men's Tennis

Top 5 Next Gen In Men's Tennis

Australian Open 2020: Who Will Survive In The Smokey Down Under?

2020 Australia Open Preview

The Old Guard Takes on The New In The U.S. Open Women's Final.

2019 U.S. Open Women's Final